Posted by: Marilyn Dieckmann | June 19, 2011

Fathers Day…

Happy Fathers Day to all the dads out there.

My dad passed away almost 25 years ago and I miss him just as much today as I did then.

Parents are so much a part of our lives and when they’re gone it seems like a part of you has gone with them.   And with both of them gone… you are truly an orphan.

I remember so many fun and wonderful things about dad.  Do you know that he could build anything?  He built a “cabin cruiser” when I was 4 years old and included a small ships wheel for us kids.  How cool is that?

He built a “popcorn wagon” and a travel trailer, furniture, and just about anything else he wanted… all he needed was a plan or a “how to” book.  He had an 8th grade education and could add numbers faster than I could write them down.  I did NOT get that mathematical mind from him!  I suck at math… but I did get the dreamer gene.  I too can do just about anything I want to do… I simply dream about it.

So thank you dad for passing on the dreamer in you to me… and I love you for all eternity.  Happy Fathers Day!

Leave a Reply

Categories

