Posted by: Marilyn Dieckmann | July 2, 2011

Fourth of July… Family.

Fireworks on the Fourth of July

Image via Wikipedia

There are days when the whole nation takes time to celebrate!  The most notable is the Fourth of July.

When I was growing up it was a day for fried chicken, potato salad and a picnic… usually with the relatives.  It was a celebration not just of our nation’s independence… but a celebration of family.  Because isn’t it true that the life-blood of our nation is in fact the family?

I was fortunate, and I was raised in what was at the time a “typical American Family.”  A very long time ago.  Mom was at home and dad went to work… although my mom worked part-time, it was still all-in-all a pretty normal family life.

Today it’s vastly different.  Single-parent homes  dominate our current life-style and have become the norm.  I was a single-parent for most of my child-raising years, and my sons grew up with me as the sole head of the family.  Did they suffer for it?  No, I don’t think so… because every day… everyday…  I told them how special they are and above all that I love them!  And the true success of my life is that my sons love me in return.  How do I spell success?  Jesse, Tim and Kelyn.

So on this Fourth of July weekend… I lift my cup of Starbucks to all families.  To my mom and dad for their love and devotion so many years ago and to my sons… I love you beyond belief… you are my precious gems.

Leave a Reply

Categories

