Posted by: Marilyn Dieckmann | July 9, 2011

Hooray for Cream Pies!

Summer in Minnesota

It’s a beautiful day in northern Minnesota and I’m looking forward to a gathering of friends and family for a traditional summer picnic.  By special request I always make homemade cream pie.

In an old recipe box of my grandmothers I found a pudding recipe that is melt-in-your-mouth good.  It’s creamy texture defies reason and once you’ve eaten one of my pies; all others pale in comparison.

I attribute my success to the fact that in my grandmother’s day everything was better…  simply because it was all homemade.  They didn’t have pre-mixed products on the grocers shelves like we do today, and that made everything taste better.

I have my own set of recipes that are favorites of my sons and they are “kid-friendly.”   Over the years I discovered if they won’t eat what you cook… why bother?  So I came up with recipes they would eat and believe it or not… they’ve become favorites of our guests too.

If you’re interested in kid-friendly, tried and true recipes… feel free to ask for them.

To name a few… Mac & Cheese (homemade & creamy), Banana or Chocolate Cream Pie, Goulash, Chili, Pineapple Meatloaf, and dill dip.

Have a super day!

Leave a Reply

Categories

