Posted by: Marilyn Dieckmann | July 17, 2011

A stroke… not of a pen.

On 7-11-11 my husband had a stroke.  What followed was a week I never want to repeat.  From the sound of the helicopter blades revving up to take him away… to the beep-beep of the gizmos attached to him monitoring his vital signs.

However, I would have to say what truly broke my heart were his tears.  He sobbed when he realized what happened and where he was.  He sobbed when he saw me walk into the room, when he thought I’d left him, and he sobbed again when I left for the night.  My heart ached for him… and there was nothing I could do to change what happened, or fix what was wrong.

There’s a positive side to this… he will now take his meds as prescribed, and not take for granted what we have.  He will use caution and alert me to changes… and be with me for a very long time.

When I think back to the days before the stroke I remember the signs.  Excessive fatigue, headache, out-of-sorts… and even a strange form of lethargy.  I should have known… but I didn’t, and I have to live with that.

But my Don is still with me and for that I am grateful.  We may not get things done this year as planned… but we will have the time to plan for them.

Thank you… for the prayers and best wishes.   Our life together goes on.

Leave a Reply

Categories

