Posted by: Marilyn Dieckmann | August 11, 2011

What’s Love Got to do With It? Part Three

What’s love got to do with it… ?   I say it once again; everything!

I’ve been told that Don will soon be released… which is absolutely wonderful!!!   However, he will need 24/7 supervision for quite a long time.   The social worker at the Sanford Health, Bemidji acute rehab unit has not offered any viable options, and has dumped the whole after care dilemma on me.  Isn’t that just peachy?  I’d like to offer my opinion… but this is a family page.

If I weren’t retiring soon it would be a serious issue, but since I am… a short-term solution will work.  I will drive the extra 1.5 hours a day to drop him off at my brother’s so he will be safe.  Sandy is thrilled to have the company, and I’m doing this for love… so he will be cared for, I won’t worry, and eventually we can get our retirement back on track.   Love has everything to do with this solution… because that’s all there is.

I also pray the fickle elements of the stroke cease to raise their ugly heads and he comes back whole… because I miss him.  I miss the love and laughter and the man who is truly my other half.  There hasn’t been much to laugh about lately… but we’ll try to find it again.

So dear friends once again I would like to encourage you to embrace the ones you love.  Forgo anger or frustration with their imperfections, and imagine your life without them… 

Make the most of every opportunity…  because what’s love got to do with it? 

Absolutely EVERYTHING!

Have a wonderful day!

Leave a Reply

Categories

