Posted by: Marilyn Dieckmann | August 23, 2011

I could just SCREAM!!!

It has not been a good week.  Don left the hospital 6 days ago and his condition has digressed… in other words, he has NOT improved, and has in fact gone backwards.  I’m not sure what they were thinking at Sanford Health, acute rehab, but then that says it all… they weren’t thinking of Don.  He was NOT ready to leave.  So now it’s all up to me to deal with it.

Believe it or not… there’s another wrinkle… the prescription service we are required to use through my employer has messed up.  They think I’m a stupid wife… just like the folks at Sanford… only I have run out of patience and will not tolerate “foul-ups” at my husband’s expense!  Beware Express Scripts… you are dealing with a she-bear who has had enough! 

His list of prescriptions was faxed to them the day BEFORE he left the hospital.  I printed out “his” form with “his” bar-code and gave it to the nurses in acute rehab so it would be ready when he was.  Someone at Express Scripts told them it was the wrong fax number and so they sent it… again.   It doubled, and the result was a mess that was left un-filled and un-attended until I checked the website to verify the orders… AFTER he was discharged.  My time on the phone with them is now close to 3 hours, which includes one call that was 95 minutes while they sorted out the mess.  The result of that was… nothing, and I had to call back… again.  I also found every incompetent customer service person that works there.

Today I checked and they are sending out two of the meds that are not working, that I asked them NOT to send… that I will NOT pay for.  How do I know this?  Because, contrary to what they all think, I’m not a stupid wife and pay very close attention to my husband’s condition.  I KNOW what is working and what isn’t.  So, who do I send the bill to?  Quite frankly, I’d like to make them eat the stupid pills they’re sending out. 

I’m tired and I could just SCREAM!  Will this mess ever end?  Am I the only one who cares enough to rock the boat and challenge this healthcare garbage? 

Well, I just wanted to vent a bit… and I promise my next 2 posts will be less scathing, and more about what matters.  My family and my books. 

Until then… pray for us, and you keep your chin up too!

Have a super day!

Responses

  1. Marilyn,
    I’ve tilted the windmill my whole life and I’ll continue doing it as long as there is life in me. We didn’t come here “trailing clouds of glory,” to be mediocre and not care about each other.
    You and Don are in my heart – be well and be happy.
    Yours to count on,
    Bert

  2. Marilyn. You and Don are in my prayers! The new health care is all about the money and it really is up to loved ones to check out everything given or done to our family. Terrible way to do things.

    You are a strong woman and need the support of your friends. Don’t give in but learn to take little breaks when you can. Keep on fighting. Don’s a lucky man!

  3. Marilyn – I lived through things like this myself. Remember that they will try to make you feel stupid, but you are the one truly watching out for him. It’s a tough, tough job, when all you want to do is sit down and cry with your head on his chest. My heart goes out to you. You will survive this. Try screaming in your car at the top of your lungs – I swear it will make you feel better. Hugs.


Leave a Reply

Categories

