Posted by: Marilyn Dieckmann | September 5, 2011

So shines a good deed in a weary world…

“So shines a good deed in a weary world,”  is perhaps one of my favorite quotes… even if it is from “Willie Wonka,” the movie.  I know it’s silly to have a favorite quote from a silly movie… but it fits.

My world is indeed weary right now and I would like to praise all the good deeds during this difficult time.  My husband’s stroke left me reeling for days, sleepless and driven beyond human endurance, because a stroke is a fickle thing and leaves its victims damaged.  How much damage is the big question of recovery.

First things first… my sons.  I know I brag about my boys all the time, and I’m sure many people are tired of hearing what “precious gems” they are… but it’s true.  They are.  They are totally supportive, even from a distance with words of comfort and love.  I know if I need them… they are with me in a heartbeat.  That’s the way real love is, and the love I share with my sons is infinitely precious and unconditional.  Jesse, Tim and Kelyn I love you beyond belief… you are always there when I need you most.  Thank you.

A HUGE thank you to my angel Mady. My granddaughter (my only grandchild) is amazing. I was over-the-top stressed getting ready for the BIG party (birthday and retirement) and she came over and pitched in.  What a lifesaver!  We got the entire yard in shape, set up and ready for guests and I can’t thank her enough.  I would have struggled with that for hours and still not been ready in time…  and she saved me. Don wanted so desperately to have the party and with it restore some degree of normalcy, and when I was ready to quit and call the whole thing off… Mady stepped up to help.  THANK YOU my angel! I love you!

Mark, Sandy, and Allie.  Thank you for watching over Don and allowing me to finish my last few weeks at work.  I don’t know what I would have done without you.  Such selfless care is worthy of praise and I thank you.  And Allie I would like to thank you for taking care of the pups so I could stay at the hospital that first week.  I was beyond tired and you took that one burden off me.  Thank you!

Dave and Diane.  What wonderful friends you are!  Your visits and gifts brightened our days and without friends like you… it’s a cold world indeed.  Thank you!

My dear friend Tamara.  You prayed for us and sent me an angel to light the night.  You noticed that I need peace too.    Thank you.

To my new friend Sandy… you brought light to my last months at work and I consider it an honor to call you friend.  You have no idea how much your smile brightened each day.  Thank you…

So shines a good deed in a weary world. I know good deeds are rare now but the good news is… they still happen.

From Marilyn with love…

Leave a Reply

Categories

