Posted by: Marilyn Dieckmann | September 5, 2011

When characters are real…

This post is inspired by a tweet from an amazing author…
@writinggroove Kathy L. Hall
Are your characters real to you? Do they talk to you? Maybe nudge you to do something you’ve never done before? Yep, you’re a writer alright.

My reply to her was yes, they speak volumes–especially in my dreams.

Have you ever read a book and the characters were so vivid you could see them, and when they spoke you could hear their voice?  That’s how I feel about the characters in my book Dragon Tree. I’ve given them so much depth… they inhabit my dreams.

Sachi is every young girls dream… seventeen, sassy, bold, beautiful and she possesses enough magic and mischief to endear her to everyone she meets. Top that off with a complete lack of conceit and you have our heroine. She does however, have enough arrogance to effectively get the job done.

I may not be a Pulitzer prize-winning author, or even a polished one… but I have stories to tell and Sachi is truly an amazing character. Along with Crispian–her best friend–their antics and exploits set the stage for a tale of dragons, warriors, elves, castles, beasts and war. Quite a drama unfolds with Sachi at the heart of it.

I can see her in my dreams, and I hope you will too when you read my debut novel, Dragon Tree – In the Dark, All That Remains is the Magic… coming soon via e-book near you.

From Marilyn with love…

Leave a Reply

Categories

