Posted by: Marilyn Dieckmann | September 8, 2011

What’s love got to do with it? Part Four

What’s in a word?  Well, as a writer I know there’s a lot in a word… for example… Bohemian. To those of us who’ve been around awhile, it’s a term we generally apply to free-spirited folks.  “Oh, that’s so bohemian of her!”  Remember that one?

Another word that was tossed around in the old days and still is in some circles is “gypsy.” I always tell people who ask that I’m half gypsy… based on stories my mom told me about my great grandmother, and it explains quite a lot. You see, I’ve never thought “inside the box” and I’m proud of it… but the fact is, the term has an unsavory connotation.

But on to my story…

My great-grandmother on the right.

A fellow patient at the hospital during a discussion at dinner when Don was in the rehab unit, asked him if I was a good cook.  Don replied emphatically that I was… hence his weight and appetite.

My cooking ability is inherited from my mother‘s side of the family and generations of Slovakia women. In this picture, my great grandmother Anna looks exactly as I would picture a bohemian woman… wearing a babushka (scarf) and a mysterious smile.  Word is she loved a man on the other side of the Tatra Mountains and the rest of the story is a mystery.  However, there are rumors…

            My grandmother Mary, is not in the photo… she was the youngest and not born when this was taken.  She was also beautiful like her mother with dark hair and eyes… and a tender heart who loved her family deeply.  When she died in 1968 I knew before I was told that she had left us. I was at work and there was a whisper of a kiss on my cheek, and I knew she had stopped to say good-by.  My mother called me moments later.
           I know most people call something like that a lot of “hooey” but it’s true.  The same thing happened when my parents died. I knew the exact moment my dad died, and I knew when the angels came for my mom… they gave me peace, and a whisper of a kiss… and I will carry that with me always.
           When Don had his stroke I knew.  Well, maybe not exactly… but I knew something was disrupting the “peace” of my life.
           So, call it what you will, or apply a word to it that explains the unusual occurrence… but the truth is…  it’s love. It’s the depth of love shared in my family and the amazing capacity to love passed down from generations of Slovakia women.
           What’s love got to do with it?  Once again… EVERYTHING!
Have a wonderful day!
From Marilyn with love…
Leave a Reply

Categories

