Posted by: Marilyn Dieckmann | October 26, 2011

Can you hear them calling… ?

Now that’s a really weird title for a post! Read on, and you’ll know exactly what I mean.

I’m wrestling with another edit of my book. No surprise there… I’m sure many of us are in the same boat. It’s a hideous job, it must be done, and I’m certainly no expert… but I’ve discovered something that makes it more fun and a lot less drudgery.

I hear them calling to me.

Who, you ask? The characters in my book… because they tell me what’s missing.

In other words, the scene becomes real when I can clearly see it, hear their voices, see their expressions and feel what they’re feeling. Then, and only then… will I know that segment is finished.

I’m not nuts! I don’t “actually” hear voices… but the characters on the page speak to me. For example, I have the villain roll down a hill and fall into horse dung. This scene makes me laugh out loud every time I read it… but, it was missing something. Then my villain spoke to me and it was loud and clear what I’d missed. The smell.

Now when you read that scene you can laugh out loud because you not only “see” the mess… but you “smell” it too.

I love to read. I absolutely love to read when I can see, hear and smell each scene. When I can feel every breath the characters take and turn the last page wanting more!

Well, there you have it and I’m back to work.

When you read DRAGON TREE (shooting for November) please let me know if you see, feel, hear, and smell each scene…

Have a wonderful day!

From Marilyn with love…

Leave a Reply

Categories

