Posted by: Marilyn Dieckmann | October 26, 2011

Pick your battles…

I’m writing a battle scene, and re-writing another and a thought occurred to me… how well do I pick my battles?

I’m totally dissatisfied with the care my husband received at Sanford Health Fargo and Bemidji. It was awful… the doctors at Fargo were “prima donnas” who didn’t care one whit about my husband’s care. In fact, one of them billed us WRONG starting from the first day! He submitted skewed data to an outside source, and I received a deluge of mail from a company not even associated with our medical plan. Now, I ask you… shouldn’t my husbands care have come first?

The term prima donna has become a mainstream word (once used solely in opera) to describe a vain, undisciplined, egotistical, obnoxious or temperamental person who finds it difficult to work under direction or as part of a team, and although irritating, cannot be done without. Actually I can do quite well without such people in my life. How about you?

I know I’m not going to win this battle… Sanford Health is HUGE and they have very deep pockets. My pockets are turned out, so it’s not a battle I’m going to fight. But you know what’s really funny? They never sent me a questionnaire or survey… guess my opinion is not required or solicited! Shame on you Sanford Health.

I choose to fight the battles that concern my sons. They are the breath of my life and struggle with the hurdles life puts in their way. My youngest son Kelyn, really needs some good news. He’s bright, talented, handsome and has a heart of gold… he just needs the right break.

He moved to Seattle (Redmond) with two friends, they signed a BIG lease and the friends came running back here dumping the whole mess on Kelyn. Now, my son could have done the same… but he chose to stick it out. This is “his” dream, and the friends just tagged along… and now it’s become his mess. Well, he’s not leaving! He’s an upstanding young man and is NOT running out on the bill or his dream! HOORAY for Kelyn! You ROCK! He’s a good man… and I’m proud of him!

His goal is to become a “game tester” and eventually an artist with a game studio. So anyone out there in the great northwest who can put in a good word… please help out here! You won’t regret it!

Now… another battle. Getting my book finished! I know I have an amazing story here… DRAGON TREE totally rocks! I’m working my way through another edit because I can’t afford a real editor… I have HUGE medical bills to pay, not working/retired, and a limited income. It’s a struggle for me. I step away for a few days and come back and it’s better… but I want it finished and “out there!” It’s screaming to be heard! That’s a lot of exclamations…

My battle here is time. Time for myself and my writing… time to finish the greenhouse, laundry, cooking, and above all time to care for my husband. The plate is full, the cup is full, and no end in sight. I would like a plateful of chocolate and a cup full of wine… not happening.

Book two in the DRAGON TREE series is crying to me… my dream book is calling to me. I need to finish the edit and move on. I need to keep moving forward, one step at a time even if it’s only a baby step. I will finish this book and many others… God willing.

I’ve come to the end of this post and hopefully the next will be full of good news for Kelyn and for me. We live in hope.

Have a wonderful day!

From Marilyn with love…

Responses

  1. This is actually one of the most amazing pieces of writing that I have read in a long time. A solid piece of work, tying together your writing with your real life and ending on such an inspirational note. My thoughts and prayers are with you and your family, and always.

    • AG,
      Thank you. Your encouragement came at a perfect time for me!
      Marilyn


Leave a Reply

Categories

