Posted by: Marilyn Dieckmann | January 22, 2012

Tattered red robe and a dream…

Yes my friends, I’m wearing a tattered red robe as I write this. Actually, I wear this robe more often than not when I sit down to write. Comfort clothes enhance the process as you well know.

This robe doesn’t have special memories… it’s not even stylish. It’s cozy and comfy, that’s enough for me. It also has deep pockets for all the middle-of-the-night scribbled notes I stuff in them. Why the best ideas come to me in dreams I’ll never know. But they do.

Currently, I’m deep into the mind and life of a 10 year boy… a long stretch for a 62-year-old grandma. But as the mother of 3 sons… who were definitely precocious in their youth, I’ve got it well in hand. Not only that.. my husband had a true “Norman Rockwell” childhood and what I miss… he catches.

I’m re-writing a book I’d originally submitted for a contest with a new POV… and I love it! Diving into the life of Willie has added a spark of life to our “winter blues” and laughter for my husband. This is not the retirement we’d hoped for… so we make the most of it.

It’s a long and tedious process. First person has not been my POV of choice, so I’m learning as I go.  Helpful hints are gratefully accepted!

What works for me is to completely get inside his head. What he thinks–I think, what he sees–I see. If it doesn’t concern him… it doesn’t happen. This kid is really cool, contrary to what others think and he runs with it! His voyage of discovery leads him into situations most kids only dream of. His mom was a wood elf? Cool! His grandfather… well, I’m not giving anything else away. Wait until I get it out there… and you won’t be sorry. It’s the stuff dreams are made of.

I’m writing for a 10-year-old audience, but grown-ups are welcome to read it too!

Have a great day folks!

From Marilyn with love…

Please remember my family in your thoughts and prayers. 🙂

Leave a Reply

Categories

