Posted by: Marilyn Dieckmann | February 15, 2012

Through the eyes of a child…

Ever wish you could go back and re-live your life?

Of course, everyone does at some point. And you’d want to keep all the knowledge you have now so you could make better choices and definitely make fewer mistakes! That’s what writing a children’s book is giving me… a chance to live life all over again, and tell a story through the eyes of a child.

I have real life experiences to draw from as well… my sons were precocious to say the least. But I’m writing POP GOES WITH WILLIE based on my own childhood. I was a loner, shy, overly sensitive and looked at the world from a totally different point of view. I cried when other children threw rocks at trees simply because they hurt them. I dreamed in bright purple… okay, I know that sounds weird, but it’s how I remember it. Purple.

Now, someone is going to attach a Freudian explanation to that I’m sure, but I remember purple as my color of choice in dreams. I like to think it as romantic and grape. I love grape flavor anything. Yes, I was a strange child and thoughtful too.

In 8th grade I was unpopular. Which is no big surprise because I was unpopular my whole life! But in 8th grade in Miss Schumacher’s class for a brief moment I shined.

The assignment was to write a book review and it wasn’t a big deal. It was just one of those things we were required to do. I remember thinking that I should write a synopsis (not a word I would have used back then), and list details from the book. But instead I wrote from the heart… and I started out with how I truly felt about the book.

Miss Schumacher handed out 2 of the reports. Mine was one of them and the other one was Sandra’s, the most popular girl in school. She asked us to read them out loud… and then we voted.

Everyone in class voted for Sandra. Everyone. There were only 2 votes for mine. Miss Schumacher and Sandra. (it was uncool to vote for your own) Then she gave us her explanation.

She applauded me in front of the whole class… actually applauded! She told them that I discovered what everyone else had missed… the true meaning of the story. Love.

I was wearing a purple dress.

That is how I write to this day… with heart, and from the heart. I’ve also been known to cry rivers of tears as I write… tough on the keyboards.

I don’t think Miss Schumacher realized the gift she gave me that day would be cherished forever. I’ve carried it with me for 50 years. I remember her fondly as the only teacher who mattered to me. I hated school for 12 years, but I loved her class.

POP GOES WITH WILLIE is my story. Told from the heart of a 10-year-old, and full of hopes, dreams, adventure and love. With a big dash of magic thrown in. I believed in magic as a child and I wanted dreams to come true. So that’s what I’m writing.

So, wish me luck folks. I’m re-writing PGWW from a whole new point of view… my way… through the eyes of a child. I LOVE it!

Have a wonderful day!

From Marilyn with love…

PS: Check out my Facebook page for Willie excerpts…

http://www.facebook.com/pages/Dreams-other-stories/261688267205313

Responses

  1. Amazing!! ๐Ÿ™‚


Leave a Reply

Categories

