Posted by: Marilyn Dieckmann | June 24, 2012

Life…

I’m tired.

Not just a little tired… but bone weary. The kind that seeps into the very heart of you, doesn’t let go, and all you want to do is sit in a soft cozy chair and never get up. That kind of tired.

The fire stole Spring from me and reconstruction is stealing my Summer. I long to stroll in the garden, listen to the bird songs and play in my workshop. I need to create… I miss that with all my heart. It is who I am, and I’m afraid the loss is now stealing my words.

I finished a story and removed it… because it’s not what I want to say. It just didn’t work for me and I’d rather not speak than utter words that aren’t true.

I need to be up to my elbows in dirt. I absolutely LOVE to sink my hands into the earth and feel that connection. You know what I mean? We ARE from the earth… we are life. That connection to the earth feeds my creative nature and my dreams.

I miss my sons… they are the breath of my life. I need hugs from them… LOTS of hugs… the kind that only they can give. Their life came from me… I carried them, held them as no one else ever will. Yes, I need hugs from my boys.

Now what? A glimmer of HOPE came yesterday.

I met a woman whose name is Hope. She’s an editor & gardener, and we connected over flowers. A yard full of discount-end-of-the-season flowers opened a door for me. I bought baskets full of flowers and herbs and planted them! Let the contractor work around them! I played in the dirt… my earth, and it was GLORIOUS! My garden is once again beautiful… well sort of. Just don’t look at the mess beyond the flower beds.

She’s also going to edit my books… she loves my voice. What high praise for a writer!

Today is another day. I still need hugs from my sons, but for now I feel refreshed and that will have to do.

Life… I needed a dose of goodness, and I got one!

From Marilyn with love…

Responses

  1. I’m like you. I love doing yard work. It’s good for the mind, the body, and the soul. It gives me, “Me” time, to reflect and renew my spirit. I hope you have a wonderful day today. As for me, I think I am going to get off the computer and go enjoy the sunshine.

  2. go ahead 🙂

  3. NIce, nice post.. more power to you… cheers :):)


Leave a Reply

Categories

