Posted by: Marilyn Dieckmann | October 14, 2012

When life gives you lemons…

First of all, I’d like to apologize for taking so long to write a new post. Way too many lemons!

So, here’s a question for you. When life give you lemons… then what?

Usually, the end of this familiar statement is… you make lemonade. But, what if you hate lemonade? What if the taste is so repugnant to you it makes you gag? What is the alternative?

I’m dreadfully behind in my blog entries and the fact is… I’m trying to do everything myself. Don tries very hard, but he doesn’t have the energy or ability to do many of the things he was able to do before the stroke. Some simple things baffle him, and perhaps the most frustrating issue is memory.

Not that I’m perfect, in fact my memory sucks! I make a list for the store and then forget the dang list! Good grief. For Don it’s different and not his fault. We will have the same discussions over and over and over again. I ask him if he remembers… and he doesn’t. My heart goes out to him, but it is a challenge for me not to overreact.

Another bag of lemons was handed to us by our contractor. Jerk!

We lost the garage – greenhouse and all the contents in the fire. When we signed the contract with him we specified the house first. FIX the HOUSE FIRST. My dining room window is still broken after 5 months. As a matter of fact, the garage is picture perfect… PERFECT.  My greenhouse – sun-room is sub-standard and poorly done.

After 7 weeks of doing nothing except ask for money… he will be back tomorrow. He will NOT get the last check until the work is done.  Let him make lemonade & quite frankly I hope he chokes on it.

Out last big bag of lemons came from the insurance company. They cancelled our homeowners policy, and we are struggling to find a carrier. So far the only one who will take us has more than doubled our premiums. We don’t have that kind of money. We can’t do it. We have a ton of medical bills too which means I will have to work and I can’t leave Don.

Now what?

There have been more lemons hurled our way too, but I’ve started throwing them back.

When life gives me lemons… I make a fairy tale! I will NOT drink lemonade!

We are using the picture perfect garage as a workshop, and our greenhouse will be finished & decorated by us at the contractors expense. Yippee!

We have created our own special fairy haven and Don and I are making fairy tree houses together! It’s beautiful.

Somewhere out there is work for me. Work that I can do at home, with Don, & the bills will be paid. Maybe finally finish and sell my book!

Above all… Don and I have our fairy tale. We are together.

So, there you have it. Make a fairy tale out of your lemons my friends, it’s a much sweeter solution.

Have a wonderful day!

From Marilyn with love…

http://www.momswildrice.com

http://www.weetreehome.com

Responses

  1. obviously, there was no such procedure in place and we don’t know why. Everything else is just speculation until more info is released. I may well come to a different conclusion with more info at hand. ============================================= Very true, and I agree, there is an update saying the woman that put the call though was NOT the regular receptionist and just covering for her.


Leave a Reply

Categories

