Posted by: Marilyn Dieckmann | May 5, 2013

Daydreams… not just for kids!

I wrote a book. E1coverfullNEW Yep, I did… it poured from the imagination of a world-class day dreamer!

My EVERWUD, is a children’s book about a 10-year-old boy who discovers all the possibilities life has to offer…  in one week.

Let me set the scene.

It’s 1951, you’re an orphan with bright red hair and neon green eyes. Not only that, but you’re unusually small, picked on by just about everyone, and better off alone. You wear clothes that don’t fit right, and other than the junk you find at the dump, you don’t have much.

Imagine waking up one day to discover you’re half wood-elf, you have a whole lot of magic, and you’re going to inherit even more! WOW! That’s a heavy trip to lay on an orphan… or on any child for that matter. Then you find out your mom and dad didn’t desert you, and had darn good reasons for leaving you behind.

Well, Joey is quite a kid. He’s got a boatload of spunk, and rather than feel sorry for himself, he makes the most of what he has. He roams the streets of Sycamore (his hometown), not lost and dejected, but with dreams. Colossal dreams of all the good stuff he can have… because he believes.

EVERWUD is told from two points of view. Joey’s, which is first person and in kid-speak; and the ethereal world of EVERWUD which is written in third person to encompass the vast realm beyond the forest portal. I thought about third person for the entire story… but Joey wouldn’t let me. He had to have his say! Like this…

     Wait a minute. If what Sherlock says is true and it’s the charms; that means the charms have magic, and if the charms have magic, that means…
“Holy mackerel! It can’t be true.” I gag, burp puke, roll over and yank the pillow up over my head.
“My mom is a witch?” The pillow muffles the dreaded words. “Jeepers. What does tha
t make me?”

Life through the eyes of a 10-year-old orphan. He may not be eloquent, but he is real! And with the help of new friends… Joey’s dreams come true.

The adventure begins in book one… EVERWUD ~ THE TREE, THE BOY & THE DOG, EVERWUD2newcoversmand continues in EVERWUD 2 ~ CASTLES, CLOWNS & POTIONS!

In book two, Joey and his buddies unleash some kick-ass magic on bullies, and set the stage for a day of reckoning in EVERWUD. But, wait a minute… I’m not going to give it all away.

Take a chance… EVERWUD is a kids book, but grownups are allowed to read it too! Daydreams are not just for kids!

http://www.amazon.com/EVERWUD-The-TREE-BOY-ebook/dp/B00B7NBOE0/ref=ntt_at_ep_dpt_1

5 ★ ★ ★ ★ ★ reviews!

“I wish this book had been written long ago, because it’s EXACTLY the story I would have loved reading as a child.”

“This book not only has a good, wholesome story, it was made more interesting by alternating the points of view between the young Joseph and his relatives in Everwud. I look forward to the next book in the series!”

“I wish this book had been written long ago, because it’s EXACTLY the story I would have loved reading as a child. Even as a “grown up” I was enchanted from the very first page…”

“I love it when a book captures me on the first page and that’s exactly what Everwud did. I know…I’m not a youngster…but Ms. Dieckmann’s magical words and story line got me just the same.”

“Marilyn Dieckmann’s magical world is full of wonder, her characters are adorable, her dialogues are funny.”

“This contemporary fairy tale is exquisitely told through the eyes of a ten-year-old orphan boy who has no idea he is part fae until events suddenly start to unfold in his life that lead him on a fascinating journey of discovery. The author alternates chapters between the boy’s point of view and that of his mother in the ethereal fairy world, and her command of each setting and the differences in dialogue & worldview are masterfully handled.”

“I was mesmerized by EVERWUD – The Tree, The Boy and The Dog by Marilyn Dieckmann!”

“I purchased this book to read to my grandson during his visits. I was delighted to find that not only did it keep him entranced but I also fell under its spell… On his next visit I asked him what he wanted to play, his answer: E V E R W U D !!”

Have a wonderful day!

From Marilyn with love…

Leave a Reply

Categories

