Posted by: Marilyn Dieckmann | June 9, 2013

Late blooming baby boomer…

DEFEATED. A feeling that has haunted me for weeks.

Just saying the word out loud is depressing… so let’s take that word and give it a swift kick in the butt!

The fresh scent of spring has finally reached us after 7 months of winter. The fragrance of lilacs, even if they are a month late this year, is amazing.

I’m a baby boomer… but I would like to officially change that to bloomer!

I’ve been a dreamer and creative soul most of my life… and I’ve truly bloomed in the last few years. Seriously, who else can boast they’ve created 81 fairy treehouses?

That would be me.

Not only that, but I wrote a children’s fantasy novel. It’s not a popular genre… my book sales are proof of that… or maybe it’s simply not that good.  But I wrote from the heart. I don’t need the public to tell me I have creative talent. I KNOW I DO!

EVERWUD is written from two points of view, and seriously… 10-yr-old kids are not all that eloquent. Joey is a pretty normal boy even if he is half wood elf and has a talking dog. Therefore, chapters from the ethereal world of EVERWUD  are written in third person… which gave me a chance to show off a bit without the limits of a 10-yr-old view on life and vocabulary. YES, I know there are brilliant 10-yr-olds out there… but it’s 1951 and Joey is truly average. UNTIL he discovers his power.

Enter book two… EVERWUD 2 ~ CASTLES, CLOWNS & POTIONS.EVERWUD-book2

About 7 weeks ago I hit a wall of DEFEAT. I hit it hard. I guess it was going back to work after I finally retired. I worked for 47 years! I deserve retirement and the trauma of manual labor after years of computer work has my body screaming!

Winter utility/heating bills killed us.  It’s June & we still have the heat on at night. Mother nature truly hates us for some reason.  Just the thought of going to work an 11.5 hour shift makes me cringe… defeat. It steals my sense of self and leaves me feeling… defeated.

I stand up with my crippled knees and shout, NO MORE!

I WILL BLOOM & FLOWER & I WILL NOT BE DEFEATED!

I AM WRITING…

I AM a CREATIVE SOUL…

I’m a BABY BLOOMER!

Have a wonderful day!

From Marilyn with LOVE…

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

